And to think that I expected the parking lot and sidewalk to be plowed by the time I left for class at 9:50 this morning.  To groundskeeping’s credit, someone did plow a straight line down the middle of the parking lot as I was making my way to my Jeep.  Although I have no idea how that is of any use to anyone.  One of my flatmates signed on Facebook this morning and noticed that someone had posted that public safety refused to pick her up due to weather conditions, and advised her not to drive.  What were we supposed to do, walk a mile to class barefoot uphill (both ways, of course)?  This is 2011.  Oddly enough, I followed the public safety van to campus.  At an intersection near campus, the van fishtailed accelerating through an intersection — even the city’s roads weren’t plowed, and there was well over an inch of snow/slush.

I parked near a driveway, but was too late/lazy/cold to scrape the snow off of the curb to make sure I was in the clear.  Yesterday, it was a fire hydrant, and I had to kick the snow off of the curb to see if I was in the yellow.  I wasn’t, but that doesn’t mean anything since most of the paint has worn off anyway, and I don’t have the regulations for yellow zone length memorized.  Not that the people who issue parking tickets take that into consideration.

One of my professors spent three hours driving to campus from Philadelphia.  He told us that, had he known it would have taken that long, he never would have left home, but once he finally left the city, traffic speed increased to a whopping 35 mph.

It’s been snowing intermittently all day.  When I went to Weis around 5:45 p.m., there was a thin layer of ice on my Jeep, and making my way down the sidewalk and across the parking lot was a challenge (though I did actually wear sneakers, instead of ballet flats).  On the upside, I bought blueberry waffles and Macaroni Grill Spicy Italian Sausage Pomodoro for tonight’s executive board meeting, which I hosted in my apartment (I love being hostess).  I’m in love with Macaroni Grill frozen food and boxed pasta (I’ve never been to a brick and mortar Macaroni Grill).  Which is horrible, because I don’t even want to think of all of the preservatives and everything else that I’m consuming.  On the other hand, considering the fact that processed foods have lately been the majority of my diet (Kix and Easy Mac, anyone?) . . . it probably doesn’t matter all that much.

Also, Alan was having difficulties in his two-wheel drive truck this evening, but he made it home safely.  There are three possible routes to use to reach my house, and all three have monstrous hills (one has a creek at the bottom).  Traversing them in winter can be tricky even with four-wheel drive.

Does anyone else have to work/attend class tomorrow?

