Some day, I will live in a state where the kids have never seen snow.  And it will be glorious.

Someone plowed! And I wore sneakers instead of flats!

This was not fun.

Hello Kitty was not happy.

First of all, I would like to mention that, in spite of all of the snow/sleet/whatever we received, classes (later than 9:30 a.m.) were not cancelled today.  It took me 30 – 45 minutes to scrape the ice/snow off of my Jeep this morning, and I never actually cleaned all of the roof.  Parking on the city streets after the plows had piled and packed the snow several feet high was also an adventure that required plowing through the snow piles.  Actually, I’m not sure that that was an actual requirement, but it was fun.

Walking around campus without slipping was nearly impossible.  If the walkways weren’t covered in ice or slush, they were covered in packed snow.  It was fantastic.

The activities fair was this evening.  After my shift, I was leaving when our student life editor asked if I could drive her to her dorm to pick up her phone charger, because her phone was dead and she wouldn’t be otherwise leaving campus for several hours.  So, we hopped into the Jeep, and as we left campus, I noticed a student shoveling her car out from under the snow the city plows had plopped there.  And I thought, “Gee, I’m glad that’s not me.  I bet she’s cold, and I’m only wearing a hoodie.”  In my defense, it was warmer when I left the apartment, I had forgotten that I’d be on campus until at least 6 p.m., and I always start my Jeep before I leave the apartment, so it’s nice and toasty.

When I returned to campus, I dropped off the editor and was leaving when I noticed the same student, still digging out.  I knew I’d feel horrible if I didn’t at least offer to help, so I turned around, parked in front of her and asked if she wanted help.  She looked at me like I’d grown another head, but said, “If you want to.”  So, I grabbed the shovel Alan had stuck in my trunk, and over the course of the next half hour, realized that it’s sometimes impossible to lift with your knees instead of your back, unless you want to step in snow that reaches your chest, managed to twist my knee in a rather uncomfortable way and learned that she was a freshman.  What a lovely way to start the semester.

When we finished, she checked to make sure that she would be able to leave campus later.  Unfortunately, her tires were slipping, but she had a bag of salt in her trunk.  So, we sprinkled salt on the snow/ice, and fortunately that was enough to free her tiny car (seriously, I’m taller than the car — which is weird, since my parents have Jeeps and Alan has a rather beastly Dodge).  I even volunteered to push if necessary.  Not that that would have done anything.

Thank you to the strong, chivalrous men and the public safety officers who offered to help us as they walked past.  All zero of you.  We even needed to go to the public safety office for scissors because we couldn’t rip open the salt bag.  You rock.

