I stole this from Katja of Ein bisschen Haushalt.  I like to pretend I can read German, even though everything is based off of sounding out words and making sense of cognates, since I’ve never formally studied German.  But I’d like to, because I’ve studied French, Spanish and Mandarin formally, and Arabic and Persian independently.  Plus, I think German is a pretty language.  And after working on a piece for National Novel Writing Month, which took place partially in Heidelberg and partially in Landstuhl, I would really like to travel to those places so I can write about them from personal experience and my own perspective.  Instead of Google Earth’s perspective.

Hardback or paperback?
I prefer the feel of paperbacks, but I hate it when the corners wear or the spine is creased.  That usually only happens when I lend books.
Amazon and bookstores?
Book stores.  I prefer to hold it while reading the synopsis.

Bookmark or dog-ear?
Bookmark.  I refuse to dog-ear or otherwise mar my books.

Order by author, title or disordered?
For the most part, my bookshelf is categorized according to category, author and title.  However, I’ve since added several books since I last organized my bookshelf, and so it’s about 75% organized.

Retain, sell or throw away?
Keep.  I very rarely sell books.

Short story or novel?
It depends on the story.  Typically, I prefer novels.  However, some novels would be better as short stories.  Excellent example: The Old Man and the Sea. Old man goes fishing.  Old man catches fish.  Sharks eat fish.  Old man goes home.

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket?
Lori Wick.  I’ve only read the first few Harry Potter books; the same goes for Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events.  Although both were entertaining.

New or used?
I prefer new, unless it’s been gently used.  The only exception has been Home Before Morning: The Story of an Army Nurse in Vietnam.  My aunt gave it to me for Christmas one year (I may have been considering becoming a corpsman at the time).  It’s a very raw and honest account of a female nurse and her experiences in Vietnam.  I highly recommend it.

Seller list, review, recommendation or browse?
Browse.  I rarely like what’s recommended.
Closed End or Cliffhanger?
I suppose it depends on the sort of story.  Sometimes cliffhangers frustrate me, but sometimes I like to create my own endings.
Read the morning, noon or night?
All the time.  I usually have time in the afternoon or at night.

Favorite book of last year?
The Forest of Hands and Teeth – Carrie Ryan
I loved the rich description of the post-apocalyptic world Ryan created.  It reminded me a bit of M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village.
Atlas Shrugged
– Ayn Rand
This book is incredibly long, but well worth the read.  Every time I began to grow a bit bored of the scene I was reading, Rand switched to a different character.  Her characters were also very believable.
Boots on the Ground: A Month With the 82nd Airborne in the Battle for Iraq
– Karl Zinsmeister
This book was a bit depressing, because as I was reading through it, I kept thinking, “Oh yay!  They’re going to accomplish XYZ and then the war will end and everyone will come home!”  And then I’d have that “just kidding!” moment when I’d realize that this book was written in 2003, and it’s 2011, and the war still hasn’t ended.

What book are you reading now?
The Unforgiving Minute: A Soldier’s Education – Craig M. Mullaney
My to-read list includes:
The Dark and Hollow Places – Carrie Ryan
You Know When the Men Are Gone – Siobhan Fallon
Lucky Girl – Mei-Ling Hopgood
War – Sebastian Junger

Favorite book of all time?
The Bible.  The Great Gatsby. Jane Eyre.  Brave New World.  1984.  The Bell Jar.  Beauty.  Sirena.  Atlas Shrugged.
In elementary school, my two favorite books were tiny children’s books.  The first was about Anton von Leeuwenhoek.  The other was about a little stray kitten in India who eventually befriended a monk.  I have no idea what the titles are, but I can distinctly recall them and the fact that I checked them out repeatedly from first-fourth grade.

