While completing some errands today, Alan and I saw almost 70 turkeys less than two miles from the house.  He quickly pulled over so I could count them and take a few photos — turkeys (especially that many) have been rare lately.

This evening, the church held our annual Valentine’s Day banquet.  I personally am not a fan of Valentine’s Day.  After working in retail and seeing countless men stop by the store and purchase a mass-produced item on the way home from work, I quickly fell out of love with the idea of expressing one’s love and undying devotion to a significant other.  However, Alan is changing my mind about that.  He doesn’t just show his affection and appreciation one day out of the  year, it’s a daily thing.  I am incredibly appreciative for that fact and for the fact that his parents reared him to be the wonderful man he is today.  Nevertheless, I spent the majority of the time taking photos.  Especially of my engagement ring.  Which was designed by Alan.  And the diamonds were hand-picked.  Why yes, as a matter of fact I am engaged to the most amazingly wonderful man on the face of the planet.

And then, after eating a three-course meal and fellowshipping (I just made up that word), we came home and I made ginger beef rice, which we ate at 10 p.m.  And then Alan made fried rice.  Which Shooter really wanted.  And I just finished eating.

Ginger Beef Rice

  • 8 C. rice
  • 1/4 C. water
  • 1/4 C. soy sauce
  • 8 tsp. sake or mirin
  • 8 tsp. sugar (7 tsp. if using mirin, as mirin is a sweet version of sake)
  • ginger to taste
  • 1/2 lb. roast beef

Bring water, soy sauce, sake or mirin, sugar and ginger to boil.  Add beef and reduce heat to low; simmer two to three minutes.  Add to rice.  I also mixed in a Japanese version of scrambled eggs, which simply requires mixing eggs, sugar and soy sauce to taste (I use approximately twice as much soy sauce as I use sugar).

