It’s not even 10 a.m. and I already have a hilarious story to tell.  Around 8:40 a.m. today, I decided to leave for class.  When I arrived, I checked to make sure that the time was after 8:50 a.m., so I wouldn’t be interrupting the class before mine.  I walked in and thought, for a moment, that class was canceled.  There was only one other student in the lecture hall, and I didn’t recognize her.  I thought maybe I just haven’t been paying close attention to my peers.  So, I sat down and the professor came in with her laptop.  She started looking for photos, which I thought was odd, because she usually uses an ancient overhead projector for our class.  I even posted on Twitter:

7 minutes of my tuition dollars have officially been wasted as the professor attempts to find photos on her laptop.

There was also another woman, whom I’d seen around campus, but never in our class.  Although she was talking with the professor and students as though she knew them fairly well.  The professor took attendance, never once calling my name, but calling others I didn’t know.  I began to wonder if she’d canceled class and moved another in its place.  Then, the professor mentioned an exam in March, which would include terms I’d never heard of, plus sculptures (which, she said, we’d discuss later).  Sculptures?  We were studying William the Conqueror.  What did sculptures and Italian terms have to do with anything?  She said she’d upload photos to Moodle.  She never uses Moodle for our class (or maybe it’s just that I rarely check Moodle).  What was she talking about?!  I began to think that I was going crazy.  It was Wednesday.  I had Medieval History on Wednesday.  It was my first class of the day.  It was with the same professor standing in the front of the room.  I grabbed my syllabus and started flipping through it.  There was no mention of a canceled class today.  And our first exam was scheduled for the end of February, not March!  That’s when it dawned on me and I posted a new status to Twitter:

Realized my tuition dollars aren’t actually being wasted because I came to class an hour early. OMG.

I turned to a woman behind me.

“This isn’t history, is it?”

“It’s art history.”

Fortunately, the professor needed to dim the lights to highlight the photos on the projector screen.  I took the opportunity to grab my things and leave.  And then I called Alan to relive the entire story, since he’d only been reading everything via text message:

I’m having the weird feeling she moved class or something.

There are weird kids here.

And she’s talking about art history.

She also said that our first exam is in March – and it’s in Feb.

But I have class here MWF.

Omg I just realized I have class at 10, not 9.

Wow.  My life really sucks right now.

I bet everyone’s wondering who the weird person is.

Poop.

For the record: Medieval History 10 – 10:50 a.m.  Editing/Print Production 11 – 11:50 a.m.  Source interview 1 p.m.  Source interview 2 p.m.  Source interview 3:30 p.m.  Newspaper executive board meeting 5 – 6 p.m.  Newspaper general staff meeting 6 – 7 p.m.

Happy Wednesday!

