I feel the need to plug my newest online obsession: Pinterest.  Although I discovered Pinterest a few months ago, I thought it was a site for crafty, sewing people (I mean, “Pinterest?”  Doesn’t it make you think of straight pins?), and didn’t think much of it.  Until I started noticing some of my Twitter friends using it to post everything from DIY project ideas to favorite blog posts and realized the potential of Pinterest.  So, I requested an invite and received one this morning, and have been “pinning” recipes, articles about journalism, wedding inspiration and DIY projects for the past hour.  Or two.

The site is easy to navigate and it’s easy to add new ideas — simply drag the “Pin It” bookmark to the favorites bar and click it whenever you find something worth pinning.  It automatically searches for images on the website to use as thumbnails.  And with tagging and mention features, Pinterest makes it easy to categorize pins.  And if you find something you like on a friend’s pinboard?  Just “repin” it on your own.

I plan to use Pinterest to keep track of recipes, articles to help me with journalism and marketing, wedding inspiration, military information, DIY projects and favorite blog posts.  Among other things.  If you’d like a Pinterest account, let me know and I’ll send you an invite.  That way, you can also recommend or share recipes or wedding ideas!

