While Alan baked a birthday cake for Mom (her birthday is tomorrow), I baked some spinach cheddar muffins for Sunday School.  I first discovered the recipe on allrecipes.com, but have deviated from the recipe since then.  I usually use some sort of smoked cheddar (although I couldn’t find the cheese I like, so I substituted smoked gruyere), and spoon the batter into the muffin cups with a ladle.  It eliminates dripping and gives me the perfect amount.

Please forgive the photo quality.  This photo is of my second batch — I burned the first batch because I was too busy taking photos of other things, even though Alan told me the muffins were ready.  I was going to throw them away, but Alan said that they taste better burnt (because who doesn’t love a crispy layer of carbon?), so he took possession of a dozen should-never-have-been-salvaged muffins.

Spinach Cheddar Muffins

  • 3 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 T + 1 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t garlic salt
  • 1/2 t onion powder
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 3/4 C butter (melted)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 C skim milk
  • 1/2 C thawed and drained frozen spinach
  • 8 oz shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 F.  Lightly grease muffin tin, or use muffin cups.  Mix dry ingredients together.  Mix remaining five ingredients in large mixing bowl – slowly incorporate dry mix.  Fill muffin tin/cups approximately 3/4 full.  Bake approximately 15 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center of muffins comes out clean.

