On Wednesday, Alan and I tried a different restaurant, a Euro-Mediterranean bistro and tapas lounge called Viva.  We’d passed the sign several times, but it always reminds me of the paper towel brand by the same name and we didn’t know how Pennsylvania would translate “Euro-Mediterranean,” so we hadn’t bothered to try it before.  We should have.

It has a very warm but open atmosphere.  The ceilings are high and the contemporary layout and lighting give it a chic feel.  There’s an open oven in the back, the likes of which one would expect to find in an Italian restaurant.  The bar is separated from the regular dining area, but still easily accessible.

We ordered bruschetta for an appetizer.  It wasn’t the best I’ve ever had, but the restaurant’s interpretation of bruschetta was still decent.  Alan ordered Mediterranean Tilapia Baked in Parchment Paper with a Caesar side salad, and I ordered the Parmesan-Encrusted Tilapia with Garlic Herb Orzo and Wild Rice (pictured above).  I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of seafood (and I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have not ordered seafood at a restaurant where seafood is an option).

For dessert, we ordered Strawberry Dulce Cheesecake, Dark Chocolate Kahlua Creme Brulee and Bananas Foster Cheesecake (pictured above, left to right).  The cheesecakes were really yummy.  Alan said the creme brulee tasted like something he could make from Jello pudding.  I thought it tasted like a failed mousse.  But the cheesecakes were really good!

