Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

+ disney food. On Friday, Alan baked Sesame-Flavored Shrimp and Caramelized Onion Cheesecake with Asian Barbeque Sauce.  It’s an appetizer served on the Disney Dream at Animator’s Palate.  And yes, all of their food has ridiculous long names like said appetizer.  It’s also ridiculously amazing.  My family has been blessed with the opportunity to travel with the Disney Cruise Line three times (two three-day Bahamian cruises and one seven-day Cozumel/Grand Cayman/Bahamas/Castaway Cay cruise).  The food is amazing and never ending.  And for that reason, I spend a good deal of the cruise on deck 4, jogging so much I come home weighing less than I did before I set foot on the cruise ship.  Anyway.  I wholeheartedly believe that Disney recipes are so amazing because they’re made with Disney magic.  I also wholeheartedly believe that this dish is amazing and definitely should be served as an appetizer, unless you intend to gain a bajillion pounds.  This recipe uses 28 ounces of cream cheese.  28.  It’s a fantastic heart attack on a plate, and I highly recommend it.

+ cookies and chips. Mexican wedding cookies are some of my most favorite cookies in the world.  Mainly because they involve powdered sugar.  So I made a batch.  Also, if you have never tried kale chips, you should.  Just rip some kale into bite-sized pieces, spread it on a baking sheet, spray it with oil and sprinkle it with salt and pepper, and pop it in the oven at 350F for about 10-12 minutes.  It has the texture and crunch of a potato chip, but with far fewer grams of fat and calories.  Plus, you can flavor the kale however you’d like.  It’s pretty addicting for dehydrated cabbage, if I do say so myself.

+ heat. The temperature was in the low 60s when I arrived on campus this morning, and I’m sure it’s even warmer by now.  Any other year, I would be lying outside on a towel, tanning and doing homework.  However, I have decided that I need to stop intentionally subjecting myself to the sun’s harmful rays without wearing protection (I usually take pride in the nice tan I get each summer).  We’ll see how well this goes over in California.

