Writing this post has been on my mind for a while, but in light of yesterday’s events, I thought it would be particularly relevant.

In light of the war our nation’s military is currently fighting and the dangers they face daily, we can find comfort in the Word of God, though the verses do not pertain solely to the physical battles our military wage – for we as Christians face an onslaught of spiritual battles against Satan.

I sometimes wear a set of Alan’s dog tags – I don’t wear them all the time because A. the jingling noise makes me sound like an approaching cow, and B. there’s a metal can opener on it (according to Google, it’s either a P-38 or a P-51) which always manages to impale me.  One of the tags has a verse from Joshua on it, referencing Joshua 1:9:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

I think we sometimes forget that God is always with us, no matter the situation, and He protects those who love Him.  In Psalm 91:14-15, the Lord promises that he will protect our loved ones.  Every time I read it, it seems to me that it was written especially for the family members of military personnel.

“Because he holds fast to me in love, I will deliver him; I will protect him, because he knows my name.  When he calls to me, I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will rescue him and honor him.”

It can be easy to get caught up in the chaos and fear of this world.  Our materialistic tendencies can threaten to ruin us when we become too attached.  Or we might watch the news and worry about recent developments or things that might happen.  After the recent storms in the South, I noticed that an acquaintance’s Facebook status stated that she was afraid that the end of the world was coming.  But is the end of the world something to fear, in spite of the difficulties we will first face?  In John 16:33, Jesus says, “‘I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace.  In this world you will have trouble.  But take heart! I have overcome the world.'”  For believers, there is no reason to fear.

“For he guards the course of the just and protects the way of his faithful ones.” – Proverbs 2:8

