+ tears.  I was just thinking, on Friday, about the fact that I very rarely cry.  Usually, things build up over time and then something little sets me off.  I cry it all out, and then I’m good for another two or three months.  But I was thinking, over the weekend, about the fact that I haven’t really cried since last fall – at least, not that I can remember.  But last night, I called Alan to tell him about bin Laden – he was driving home at the time and had not yet heard – and when he got home, he put his phone near the TV so I could hear Obama’s address (I was attempting to write a paper and my roommate was watching a baseball game on our apartment’s TV).  Perhaps it was because I was overwhelmed, perhaps it was because it was actually just that good, but either way, Obama’s speech made me cry a little.  And later, after my roommates went to bed and I was the only one awake, pounding out a paper and stalking the news, the tears really started flowing.

How many little boys are going to want to be part of SEAL Team 6?  How many more American troops are going to die because of the repercussions of bin Laden’s death?  How many people are going to venerate him because his body was simply buried at sea – though there do seem to be some images of the body floating around the Internet (but I don’t advise looking at them, because one popped up in my Facebook feed and highly disturbed me, and no, I most certainly do not want to see the image of a dead man over my morning cup of coffee).  I am overwhelmed with relief, with anxiety, with sadness.

“I can only think of one death that brought the world peace … and we celebrated that a week ago.” – take to the sky

+ grounded.  Last night, there was an honors and awards ceremony at college.  I received an award for the English and communications departments, which surprised me, but made me really happy.  I started thinking of all of the other honors and awards recipients and thought, “Wow.  I’m in some pretty good company!”

This morning, I received the grade on a paper I wrote a week ago.  I realized that, in my rush to finish writing, I never entered the year that Thomas Becket was ordained archbishop of Canterbury.  The opening sentence of my paper reads, “When Henry II appointed Thomas á Becket as the archbishop of Canterbury in [YEAR], …”

There’s nothing like a B to keep you grounded.

+ almost there.  This is my final week of classes as a junior.  This is good, because my brain decided to quit last Friday, and hasn’t returned since.  This is bad, because I have more work – both classwork and otherwise – than I’d like to think about accomplishing within the next five days.  The magazine cover and spread assignment is difficult because it requires PhotoShop and InDesign – two programs I do not have, and my Medieval History paper would be a lot easier to write if I hadn’t accidentally sent the book home with Alan. …

