Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters+ nikon.  After much deliberation, a Nikon D5100 has been welcomed into the house.  I’m so glad Shooter is so photogenic.

Alan and I plan to take this with us on our trip to California to visit his family, and I also plan to use it in photographing and recording interviews for my senior honors thesis.

+ the closest shave.  I watched Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street for the first time this weekend.  The song “Johanna” has been forever ruined for me by the fact that the men sang it in a choir concert during high school.  Hearing the same song for an entire semester will do that for you.

+ cooking.  Alan was late arriving home tonight, so I made a very meat-and-potatoes sort of dinner for my family around 5 p.m. – a teriyaki chicken dish (and staple of Japanese bento boxes) and a potato dish that my grandmother made for Easter.  Not surprisingly, my potatoes turned out nothing like hers, even though I followed the recipe.  There’s something about Pennsylvania Dutch grandmothers, I’m telling you.

Then, I made Spanish rice, reheated the potatoes and chilled the chicken instead of frying it, so Alan and I had teriyaki chicken salad wraps, instead.

Why, yes, as a matter of fact I did eat two dinners tonight.

And I’ll raid the kitchen again in about an hour and a half.

+ roasted newt.  It’s quite possible that I pretend I’m Sen in Spirited Away whenever I eat siopao.

It’s also quite possible that Maddie likes to pretend she’s eating my siopao.  And even though you can’t tell from this photo, Shooter is sitting to Maddie’s left.  He’s just too short to have made this photo.

