+ kidney infection.  Wouldn’t wish one on anyone.  I contracted one last week and consumed 3 quarts of cranberry juice over a period of less than 24 hours.  Quite impressive, since I absolutely hate cranberry juice.  On the upside, after feeling absolutely horrific last Wednesday – on my Top 10 Most Painful Moments of My Life list (which I just created), I’d say a kidney infection ranks at number 3, just below surgeries and above a broken finger – I’m feeling much better now.

+ meet the parents.  Since I wasn’t online much last week, I never recapped our trip to California.  I really enjoyed meeting Alan’s family and am super-excited about becoming part of their family!  Alan and I are very blessed to have such amazing, supportive families.

California, on the other hand, left me feeling a bit … let down.  The scenery was gorgeous (especially driving the Grapevine) and I loved being so close to the beach (and by “close,” I mean 2.5-4 hours, but seriously, drive 2.5 hours in any direction from my house and you’re still in the ridges and valleys of Pennsylvania), but I’ve had better seafood in Pennsylvania.  Like, farm-it-in-Maine-or-catch-it-in-Alaska-and-freeze-it-and-drive-it-to-the-middle-of-Pennsylvania seafood.  On the other upside, there was no humidity.  I had no idea summer could exist without the concept of humidity.  Or flies.  A few times, Alan’s sister’s kids, M and J, left the front door open.  I was expecting someone to remind them to close the door.  Apparently, there’s only a month or so when one must worry about insects in the house.

Some of the photos I took while in California are posted on deviantART (as well as photos of dogs, flowers and other random things).

+ “a wedding, a wedding, we’re going to have a wedding.”  Exactly one year and one week from now, I will be preparing to marry my best friend.  It hasn’t quite sunken in, yet – the whole, “hey, you have a wedding to plan and you should probably have gotten on that about a week ago.”  Why should I have gotten on that a week ago?  Well, there’s … Alan’s much-talked-about-but-never-seen orders for some time between August and October.  My extra class (and, did I mention I’m taking math, my least favorite subject ever?).  My honors thesis.  The fact that I will be the editor in chief of the college newspaper next year.  The fact that one of my professors asked if I would help organize a student debate team.  The fact that house hunting is unbelievably more fun than looking for a caterer.  And the fact that, within a week, my summer will be completely filled with watching T and C, leaving little to no time for wedding planning.

Fortunately, I have a super-awesome mom (who has been, for about a week, reminding me that there is a wedding in about a year that I have to plan for).

I think, first of all, we need to narrow down the guest list.  We’re currently slightly over 100 (Alan originally wanted 30 … and I wanted 300), and over 50% of those guests are my friends and family.  Approximately 20% are mutual friends/vendors, which leaves about 30% of the guests seated on Alan’s “side,” which would be lopsided and odd.  But, seating guests according to affiliation makes me think of this, anyway:

And that’s just sad.

