+ super 8.  I thought the previews looked interesting because I love sci-fi, apocalyptic and action/adventure movies.  My mom thought the previews looked interesting because they feature the actor from “Friday Night Lights” (Kyle Chandler).  So, Mom, Dad, my sister, D, Alan and I went to see “Super 8” on Saturday afternoon.

I still have no idea why it was called “Super 8.”

One of the reviews claimed it was similar to E.T. … it isn’t.  Aside from the fact that it features a kid and an alien.  However, the storyline was interesting (it takes place 1979) and the acting was pretty good – I was particularly impressed by Elle Fanning, and hope to see her in more films.

Unfortunately, the movie was laced with profanities, and nine times out of ten, the child actors were the ones using foul language.  That severely detracted from the movie for me, as the profanity was highly unnecessary.

+ cowboys and aliens.  Before “Super 8,” there was a preview for “Cowboys & Aliens.”  It sounded like the most ridiculous combination ever … but I want to see it.

+ thesis.  Also, I’ve been working on my thesis.  If you happen to be the spouse of a U.S. military service member, or if you happen to serve in the U.S. armed forces, and wouldn’t mind allowing me to interview you about your deployment or PCS experiences, please contact me.

