So the LORD God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, cursed are you above all the livestock and all the wild animals! You will crawl on your belly and you will eat dust all the days of your life. And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head, and you will strike his heel.” – Genesis 3:14 – 15

After our weekly trip to the farmer’s market, we went to Grammy’s.  There’s a large garter snake under the bridge to the pool, and after T and C snuck up on it (T even touched it before it slithered away), C decided he wanted to go snake hunting.  Grammy was perfectly fine with this, as she abhors snakes.  And I was perfectly fine with this, because I was pretty sure the boys had scared off every snake within a quarter mile, and on the off chance that C did manage to find a snake, I doubted he’d be fast enough to catch it, and I doubted he’d actually kill it.  I told C that, if he was able to catch and kill a snake, he could take it home to show his dad.

Well … he caught and killed a garter snake.

Grammy thought it was funny that I had to eat my words.

So did Mom.

So did Alan.

So, there is now a dead snake in a bag outside the house, waiting for Alan to dispose of in the woods.

