Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

+ On Friday, I submitted my an article to the final round of the application process for a journalism program.  I was really excited until I read over my submission and noticed three mistakes.  This is what happens when you work between three different word processing programs, copy and paste and then fail to review your work because you’re so stressed out about deadlines and the possibility that the time difference between New York and Pennsylvania is 15 minutes.  If I’m freaking out about an application process, I’d hate to see me when I’m actually working.

+ I really want to attend the Women of Purpose Conference in Hershey.  I’ve never been to a women’s conference before, and I’d like to go before Alan and I move to Texas.  Plus, Kari Jobe will be there.  She sings “Revelation Song,” one of my favorite songs.

+ Speaking of Texas, Alan and I perused house listings in the Belton area a few nights ago.  We’re still debating whether to live on- or off-post (as it would be cheaper and obviously closer to work for him), but one of the houses we really liked is within walking distance to the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.  I had never even heard of this university before reading the house description, but not only does it offer undergrad courses in most of the subjects for which I am internationally certified to tutor (I’ve been toying with the idea of tutoring as a temporary side job), but it also has a graduate program in counseling/psychology (I’ve also been toying with the idea of earning my master’s degree in psychology)!  Plus, UMHB is a Christian university.  While we obviously need to pray for God’s wisdom and will in this situation, I’m torn between wanting to live near that campus (and possibly start earning my master’s) and wanting to live on base and save money.

